

ASEG Annual General Meeting Minutes

17 March 2023 12.30pm AEST

In person: Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre

Online: via Zoom

1. The 2022 President, Emma Brand welcomed all those present and acknowledged the Traditional Owners of the land.

Present: **Zoom:**

David Howard, Ron Hackney, Rob Ross, Peter Goyre, Ian James, Adam

Davey, Kathryn Galvin (Association specialists)

In person:

Kate Brand, Emma Brand, Yvette Poudjom Djomani, Leslie Atkinson, Eric Battig, Lisa Worrall, Janelle Simpson, Andrew Mutlon, Marina Costello, Koya Suto, Susanne Haydon, Shaun Strong, Milayla Sambrooks, Mark Duffett, Michael Miceniko, Mosayeb Khademi and Alexandra Costall

Proxies: Howard Golden, Hugh Nigel, Miro Bosnar

2. Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting:

Motion 1: That the minutes be accepted as a true and accurate record of the Annual General Meeting held in 2022.

Approved unanimously by the AGM. **Motion carried**.

3. To receive the Federal Executive report on the activities of the Society during the preceding financial year:

The President, Emma Brand, presented a report on the Society's activities for 2022/2023. The report and presentation are attached to these minutes.

Motion 2: That the Annual General Meeting receives and accepts the report of the President.

Approved unanimously. Motion carried.





4. To receive and consider the financial accounts and audit reports:

The Treasurer, Dr Yvette Poudjom Djomani presented the financial accounts and audit reports for the Society for 2022 (1 January 2022 to 31 December 2022). The report and presentation are attached to these minutes.

<u>Motion 3</u>: That the Annual General Meeting receives and accepts the report of the Treasurer.

Approved unanimously. Motion carried.

5. Report on the selection of the new office bearers for 2023/2024

The following nominations were received.

1.	For President	Eric Battig
2.	For President Elect	Janelle Simpson
3.	For Treasurer	Dr Yvette Poudjom Djomani
4	For Secretary	Asmita Mahanta

There being no other nominations no ballot was required, and the meeting noted their appointment. Emma Brand, as outgoing President, vacated the chair in favour of the incoming President Eric Battig.

6. The Annual General Meeting noted the Committee of the Society for 2023/2024 who were nominated in accordance with the Society's Constitution and were unopposed:

The following nominations were received.

- 1. Emma Brand Immediate Past President
- 2. Steve Hearn Publications Chair
- 3. Ian James Webmaster / Vice President
- 4. Mark Duffett Technical Standards
- 5. Michelle Thomas Education Chair
- 6. Janelle Simpson State Branch Liaison
- 7. Suzanne Haydon Membership Chair
- 8. Mosayeb Khademi Communications Chair
- 9. Randall Taylor International Affairs Chair
- 10. Kate Brand Professional Development Chair







There being no other nominations no ballot was required, and the meeting noted their selection.

Emma Brand will automatically move into the position of Immediate Past President.

Resolution to appoint the society's auditors for the 2023 financial year.

Motion 4: That the Society appoints Tinworth Accounts & Co as auditors for 2023.

TINWORTH ACCOUNTANTS & CO. Chartered Accountant and Business Advisors Level 2, 66 Berry Street, North Sydney, NSW 2060

Approved unanimously. Motion carried.

6. Acknowledgements and thank you to outgoing Executive.

Emma Brand thanked the outgoing Executive for its efforts on behalf of the society during 2022/2023 and welcomed the incoming Executive.

Emma Brand was acknowledged for her role and leadership as President and the outstanding achievements over the last year.

Leslie Atkinson was acknowledged as an outgoing FedEx member.

Eric Batting thanked everyone for attending.

7. Close of Meeting

There was no further formal business to transact.

The meeting closed at 2.46pm AEST.